When to hug her son again?

316879_10150339491327857_694122856_8258760_918977453_n

On my way to school, I was thinking of the prisoners who are still in a hunger strike and those who will be released tomorrow. I asked my sister Shahd ‘ Are you going to the sit-in tent in the Red cross’, She nodded her head.

After our lectures we went to the tent in solidarity with the prisoners and families of the prisoners. I saw Shahd running like a baby who lost his mum and looking for her. I asked shahd and looked at her eyes which are full of tears and mixed feelings’ What’s going on Shahd’ ,’I’m looking for prisoner’s family who their son will be released tomorrow’she said then she ran to continue looking for them.

I followed shahd to know what’s going on and got surprised by 75 years old blind woman who was waiting  and hoping that her son’s name will be included in the exchange deal, but sadly she knew that he is not . I couldn’t help seeing her crying and I started crying without stopping  when She said with shedding a lot of tears’ I’m an old and patient woman and  I was in the hospital last night and will never see my son who is sentenced life long imprisonment .

Gazing at the old women’s face.  My grandmother’s face came to my mind immediately,  I imagined her moving from prison to another hoping to see her sons and to hug them strongly. My father was one of her sons held in the Israeli dark jails.

I went back home and told my mother what happened with me during the day and the story of the old woman , She commented’ While your father was in the prison, I was counting the seconds,minutes,hours, days, and years and I felt the day without your father is like 300 years’ .

This old woman who has a lot of stories in every wrinkle in her weak face. However, she will never lose the hope to hug her son again.

By:Tamam Abusalama

One Response

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

