For the Living Martyrs

386358_10150428603092357_510962356_8385164_221631699_n

I was born a year after my father was released from the Israeli prison. In my early years I was not aware enough to understand how my father’s imprisonment and what he was subjected to; such as torture, solitary confinement, denial of family visits and many other human rights violations against prisoners will not stop me thinking of our awful situation. I was going through my sister Shahd’s drawings and listening to Fairouz and thinking why we can’t go to our homeland and our capital? Remembering how could my father stay between 4 walls for 15 years, and imagining what would have happened to him if he stayed more than 15 years or even for his entire life?

A lot of questions arise in my mind but I can’t find even one answer to any of them whatsoever.

Yesterday while we were talking about several subjects, my eldest brother Majed jumped in: “Dad, tell us some stories of torture while you were in prison,” asking my father. “We suffered a lot and no one could imagine our suffering and struggle,” my father replied with much strength, and went on telling us this story. “I remember one time when we were hunger striking, and the Israeli jailer tried hard to break our hunger strike and used very dangerous ways to feed us; for example, they would put a tube through our throat into our stomach and feed us forcibly while we were tied down.”

If everyone put himself in the place of prisoners or prisoners’ families, he would know what it feels to be through the torturous conditions they are forced to endure.

Today my friends, who are addict to travel but they have never been outside of Gaza, and I were talking about traveling. They asked me: “Have you ever traveled?” “I (traveled) to Jerusalem,” I replied with a broken heart. Then, I kept asking myself if going to Jerusalem is considered a travel and felt strangled. But when I think about the prisoners who sometimes are kept in isolation for years without feeling weak such as the prisoner Ahmed Sadaat who has been in the solitary confinement since 2009 with very difficult conditions in the jail, being banned from having an o’clock in order keep track of the time, It makes me stronger.

It is true that a real man is born out of the womb of suffering, and I’m so proud of being a great man’s daughter.

Everyone needs to know the truth, so let’s all speak up loudly and demand the Palestinian rights and prisoners in particular.

Leave a Reply

